Dallas ISD Welcomes New Board Members, Fetes Departing Trustees

Dallas ISD

Outgoing Dallas ISD trustees Audrey Pinkerton, left, Lew Blackburn, right (photos courtesy Dallas ISD).

Dallas ISD leadership past and present, as well as community members, teachers, and principals,  gathered to fete outgoing district school board trustees Lew Blackburn and Audrey Pinkerton May 23.

Blackburn represented District 5 for 18 years before announcing he would not seek re-election this year. Pinkerton served District 7 for three years, and announced she would not seek re-election earlier this year as well.

“Dallas ISD is in its strongest financial shape and is now leading the way in Texas in public education,” Superintendent Michael Hinojosa said. “That is something you should take great pride in.”

New District 7 Trustee Ben Mackey (right) was sworn in by State Rep. Rafael Anchia

Following the reception for Blackburn and Pinkerton, Maxie Johnson and Ben Mackey were sworn in, having one their elections to represent districts 5 and 7, respectively.

New District 5 Trustee Maxie Johnson (right) was sworn by fellow trustee Justin Henry

The district also announced two new principal selections in East Dallas. Brittany Swanson will be principal at Mount Auburn Elementary, and Michael Ruiz will be principal at Geneva Heights Elementary School.