Dallas Elections Attract Bumper Crop of Filers

Dallas electionsFourteen Dallas City Council seats and three Dallas Independent School District trustee seats are up for grabs on May 6. I’ll start saying this early — as I always do: It can cost somewhere around $1 million to hold an election, and in most May Dallas elections, we see less than 10 percent of voters turning out to vote.

And it really couldn’t be much easier. Check and see if you’re registered to vote here.  If you’re not, you can click here to register. If you vote early, you can vote at any early voting polling location in the county – so on your way to work, during your lunch break, on your way home, or even on a Saturday. The last day to register to vote is April 6. Early voting begins April 24 and will continue through May 2 for all Dallas elections.

The last day to register to vote is April 6. Early voting begins April 24 and will continue through May 2. You can even vote on a Saturday or a Sunday.

For Dallas ISD District 2, Dustin Marshall will look to keep his seat (that he just won last May in a special election after Mike Morath resigned to take his current gig at the TEA) against three opponents: Richard D. Young and Lori Kirkpatrick.  

In District 6, longtime incumbent Joyce Foreman faces one challenger — Phelesha Hamilton. In District 8, incumbent Miguel Solis faces no challenger, although the deadline for write-in campaigns is 5 p.m. February 21.

And, as usual, you can expect a full look at each contested Dallas ISD race, complete with an overview of endorsements, as the May election season progresses.

There are 39 people vying for 14 city council seats, with all but three incumbents (Sandy Greyson, Jennifer Staubach Gates and Adam McGough) attracting opponents this time around. As Candy mentioned this week, she is running for Place 11 against incumbent Lee Kleinman.

Incumbent Scott Griggs will face off against Stephen L. Winn for Place 1, while Brian F. Ostrander will vie for the Place 2 seat against incumbent Adam Medrano.

Casey Thomas will try to keep his Place 3 seat while facing Joe Tave. Sandra Crenshaw’s filing was still listed as pending on the city website at press time.

Carolyn King Arnold and Dwaine Caraway will campaign against each other for Place 4. Caraway held that position until term limits forced him out and paved the way for Arnold to hold that seat currently. Incumbent Rick Callahan will face Dominique Torres for Place 5.

Current Mayor Pro-Tem Monica Alonzo, who represents Place 6  is one of two incumbents facing five challengers: Tony Carrillo, Gil Cerda, Alex Dickey, Omar Narvaez, and Linus Spiller.

The second would be Place 7 incumbent Tiffinni Young. She is facing: Adam Bazaldua, Marvin Crenshaw, Kevin Felder, Tammy Johnston, and James “JT” Turknett.

Place 8 council member Erik Wilson will face Tennell Atkins, Moctezuma Seth Gonzalez , Gail Terrell, and Eric Williams.

Arthur Lee Adams Jr. will face Place 9 councilman Mark Clayton, while Place 14 incumbent Philip Kingston drew two challengers — Matt Wood and Kim Welch.

3 Comment