Texas Discovery Gardens Honors Allie Beth and Pierce Allman With 2018 Flora Award

Share News:


Real estate magnate Allie Beth Allman and her husband, Pierce, will be honored by Texas Discovery Gardens with the 2018 Flora Award at the annual gala.

Allie Beth and Pierce Allman will be honored with the 2018 Flora Award for their years of service to the Dallas Community on October 25, the jade anniversary of this prestigious Dallas occasion. Since its inception in 1982, The Flora Award has been presented in support of Texas Discovery Gardens, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. The honor serves to recognize outstanding citizens who have demonstrated a commitment to community service, natural resource education, protection of the environment and quality of life.

“If there is a worthy cause in Dallas, chances are the Allmans have supported it in a meaningful and generous way,” said Dick Davis, Executive Director of Texas Discovery Gardens. “While the Allmans don’t seek recognition, those of us in the nonprofit world seek every public opportunity to show our gratitude. That they would allow us to honor them for their decades of philanthropic efforts is gratifying beyond words. Yet, we plan to find just the right words at the 2018 Flora Award Gala.”

Among the many causes the Allmans have supported: The Perot Museum of Nature and Science, DFW World Affairs, Dallas Museum of Art, the George W. Bush Presidential Center, Dallas Symphony and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Dallas.

For the Flora Award’s jade anniversary, all past living Flora honorees will be asked to attend for special recognition at the black tie-dinner. Past Flora honorees include Peggy and Carl Sewell, Senator Kay Baily Hutchison, Dee and Charles Wyly, Lady Bird Johnson, Laura and President George Bush, Gloria Vanderbilt, and Margaret and Trammell Crow.

Flora Awards co-chairs Laura Chancellor Black and Kelly Cantu Dees

Honorary Chairs for the 2018 Flora Award are Janet Smith, Bettye Slaven, and Marilyn Waisanen, with Laura Chancellor Black and Kelly Cantu Dees serving as co-chairs. Laura and Kelly will also co-chair the Flora Award Patron Party on September 20th to celebrate the supporters of the jade anniversary.

Tickets for the 2018 Flora Award Gala and general donations in Allie Beth and Pierce Allman’s honor may be purchased at TexasDiscoveryGardens.org/flora. Ticket prices start at $300 and tables at $3500.  For information, call Haley Estrada at 214-428-7476, ext. 230 or hestrada@texasdiscoverygardens.org


Candy Evans

A real estate muckraker, Candy Evans is one of the nation’s leading real estate reporters. She is also the North Texas real estate editor for Forbes.com, CultureMap Dallas, Modern Luxury Dallas, & the Katy Trail Weekly. Candy has written for Joel Kotkin’s The New Geography, Inman Real Estate News, plus a host of national sites. Constantly breaking celebrity real estate news, she scooped former president George W. Bush's Dallas home in 2008. She is the founder and publisher of her signature CandysDirt.com, and SecondShelters.com, devoted to the vacation home market. Her verticals have won many awards, including Best Blog by the venerable National Association of Real Estate Editors, one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious journalism associations. Candy holds an active Texas real estate license but does not sell. She is on the Board of Directors of Braemar Hotels & Resorts (BHR).

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *